Academy Instructor/Basic Instructor Development Course

The Academy Instructor Certificate Program (AICP) establishes instructor training and certification requirements for academies in the program. Its purpose is to recognize demonstrated competency levels in education and training experience for each instructor, which in turn, improves the overall professionalism, quality, and effectiveness of law enforcement training.  This manual provides a set of guidelines and curriculum.  Each section of the AICP Guidelines and Curriculum may be downloaded here AICP Guidelines PDF.

Overview of IDI Level I (Basic) Academy Instructor Certification Course*

*This course meets the requirements for AICC and is also commonly referred to as AICC. This course is open to all law enforcement trainers, including those training in an academy, advanced officer training, in-service training and all other professional development training.

This course meets the basic instructional skills training requirement to teach in the POST Regular Basic Course and for the Academy Instructor Certificate Program.  Students will gain facilitation skills and an understanding of how to employ adult learning methodologies appropriate for various law enforcement topics.  This class is designed to teach fresh, innovative techniques such as:

  • Training skills
  • POST basic course instructional system
  • Roles and responsibilities of the instructor
  • Concepts of adult learning
  • Learning styles and types
  • POST instructor workbook series
  • Elements of training
  • Delivery strategies
  • Instructional resources
  • Presentation skills and much more

This class is also designed as the first level of the POST Instructor Development Institute (IDI) and is a requirement of those wishing to progress through the IDI program.

It is recommended that all trainers entering AICC take the “Learners First” course on the POST Learning Portal prior to attending the in-person class.


AICC Academy Instructor Development Course Certified Presenters:

Allan Hancock College  Website

POC for registration: Christina McMillan (805) 922-6966 x3284

Email to register: cmcmillan@hancockcollege.edu


CA State University, Long Beach Center for Criminal Justice Research and Training   Website

POC: Selene Martinez (562) 985-4940 Fax: (562) 985-2448

Email to register:chhs-ccj@csulb.edu


Fresno City College   Website

Email or Call to Register: Fred Johnson (559) 442-8277  fred.johnson@fresnocitycollege.edu


Golden West College – Regional CJTC    Website

Email or Call to Register: Cindy Onusz (714) 895-8368  conusz@gwc.cccd.edu


Los Angeles Police Department

Email or Call to Register: Sergio A. Ortiz, Police Officer III, In-Service Training Section, Instructor Development Unit (213) 485-3163 25746@lapd.lacity.org

Email or Call to Register: Rachel Evans, Police Officer II, In-Service Training Section, Instructor Development Unit (213) 485-3163 39593@lapd.lacity.org


Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department  Website

Program Coordinator: Sergeant Joseph Quire, jpquire@lasd.org

Email to register: The Education-Based Leadership (EBL) Unit ebl@lasd.org


Orange County Sheriff   Website

Email or Call to Register: : Wendy Molina (714) 566-2700, wmolina@ocsd.org


San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department    Website

Program Coordinator: Genie Gonzales ggonzales@sbcsd.org or (909) 473-2615

Email or Call to Register: (909) 473-2695 or aotregistration@sbcsd.org


San Diego Miramar College    Website

Program Coordinator: Don Robbins (760) 546-8207 drobbins@sdccd.edu
Email or Call Don to register


San Diego Regional Training Center/Government Training Agency

Program Coordinator:  Marisa Messier (858) 550-0040 mmessier@govtraining.com

Registration: Click here to register


San Francisco Law Enforcement Regional Training Facility

POC: Jenica Liu (415) 401-4708 OR sfpd.training@sfgov.org
Email or Call Jenica to register


Stanislaus County Sheriff’s Regional Training Division

Registration: www.sheriffstraining.org


South Bay Regional Public Safety Consortium   Website

Program Coordinator: Josh Jones (408) 229-4278 or jjones@theacademy.ca.gov
Email or Call Josh to register